19
Nov
08

Green Hill Cemetery

I found the most amazing cemetery in Greensboro, Green Hill Cemetery. I took a project shot there (my pano) and decided to go back and do some fun shots with a friend. The image with two ghosts may still need a little work, but I love it. It was a lot of fun to play around with the long exposures and see what I could get. It may sound creepy but I think cemeteries are (most of the time) beautiful.

6 Responses to “Green Hill Cemetery”


  1. November 19, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    that’s my favorite graveyard.

    i’ve shot there dozens of times. i actually shot my pano there too, but i think yours is better. i didn’t pick a good spot for mine.

    it’s a great place for night photography/light painting. as weird as that might seem, the proximity and sounds of downtown greensboro help ease a lot of the spookiness. i’ve never felt unsafe there.

  2. November 20, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Holy crap, that top left one is CREEPY!

    Nice location, looks like a good place to shoot at night. Is being there at night kosher? Do you typically need permission or anything? … I assume it’s open to the public 24/7, but ya never know.

  3. 3 jenniferpriddyphotography
    November 20, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    nice shots, the second shot is spooky. did you do any work in photoshop? the black and white shot is very nice as well, i love the star of light peaking through the tree.

  4. 4 fairphoto
    November 20, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    Thanks guys! I appreciate the comments. The sign says that it closes at “dark” but last time I was there after sunset and when I left, the gates were still open. I saw several folks (one lady several days, apparently she regularly walks there) but no one that looked like a grounds keeper.
    As for the photos I didn’t really do anything in PS except sharpen, dodge and burn a little. I haven’t really done much of anything with the second shot yet. Not sure what I want and haven’t really had time to play. I shot it under tungsten so it looks a little blue but its RAW so I may change that, I just don’t know. I put them in BW in Bridge.

  5. November 21, 2008 at 1:21 am

    the locals use it a lot as a walking / dog walking track.

    technically you’re trespassing if you’re there much past dusk. but i’ve never had any trouble, the gates are never closed, and it’s far too large of a place to patrol.

    something i’ve been meaning to do, but have never gotten around to:
    go to google/yahoo maps. zoom in on graveyard and print it out, to map out the more interesting graves / crypts.

    and next time you’re there. look for my little secret spot: in the southeastern corner of the cemetery there’s a special gated-off private cemetery. it’s a neat little find. i didn’t discover it until probably the 5th or 6th time visiting the place.

    other things to look for: the (damaged) confederate soldier monument/statue, 3 or 4 mausoleums, a hillside of fallen graves, angle monuments, biblical statues, lamb monuments, the wealthy family plots with massive obelisks/spires, the stream, and especially this time of year, very large, creepy, gnarled old trees.

    and look for cats. i often hear what sounds like cats or kittens nearby when i’m in the deeper areas of the cemetery late at night, but i’ve never found any.

  6. 6 fairphoto
    November 21, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    Cool…I’m gonna look for the private area and the stream next time I go. I thought I had seen all of it. It really is so big though. Thanks for the heads-up.


Leave a Reply

